3a Retirement Savings Foundation

Anyone who has earned income that is subject to AHV contributions can pay into the tied pension plan (pillar 3a) and deduct the payments from their taxable income. Payments can be made from the year you turn 18 until you reach the regular AHV retirement age.

Anyone who can prove that he or she is in gainful employment beyond the normal retirement age can continue to pay in pillar 3a for a maximum of five years beyond the normal retirement age and continue to pay in during this period.

Information on special cases (unemployment, cross-border commuters, early retirement) can be found in the following article: Who is entitled to pay into the 3rd pillar?

From the year you turn 18, you can pay into the pillar 3a. However, this is subject to the condition that you have an earned income subject to AHV contributions.

You can pay into the pillar 3a until you reach the regular AHV retirement age. Beyond that, payments can only be made if you can prove that you are still employed. At the latest, however, at the age of 69 or 70 (women/men), the pillar 3a must be dissolved and the credit balance withdrawn.

Yes, provided both partners have an income from employment subject to AHV contributions, both can pay into pillar 3a and thus build up a private pension plan. However, if one partner’s income is settled in the simplified settlement procedure, he or she cannot make a payment.

The law does not limit the number of 3a accounts. finpension’s 3a retirement savings foundation allows up to five portfolios per person.

No, the law does not permit the splitting of credit balances on a 3a account among several 3a accounts. Partial withdrawals are only possible for residential property. In all other cases, only the entire balance can be withdrawn at once. If you would like to be able to withdraw retirement assets in stages at a later date, you must therefore open several 3a accounts.

Yes, that’s possible. You can have 3a accounts or custody accounts cancelled and transferred to another provider.

If you already have a 3a account, you can only transfer «en bloc». This means that you cannot transfer just any amount, but must always transfer the entire balance of a 3a account.

If you have more than one 3a account, you can move each balance around and transfer it from one provider to another.

Yes, the 3a credit balances with finpension 3a Retirement Savings Foundation can be withdrawn at any time.

A distinction is made between persons who are affiliated to a pension fund (2nd pillar) and those who are not affiliated to a pension fund. For people with a pension fund, the maximum payment for one year is limited to 6,826 francs. Without a pension fund, you may pay up to 34,128 francs into a pillar 3a, but no more than 20% of net earned income (gross income less AHV, IV, EO and ALV contributions).

Missed payments cannot be made up in later years.

A distinction is made between persons who are affiliated to a pension fund (2nd pillar) and those who are not affiliated to a pension fund. For people with a pension fund, the maximum payment for one year is limited to 6,826 francs. Without a pension fund, you may pay up to 34,128 francs into a pillar 3a, but no more than 20% of net earned income (gross income less AHV, IV, EO and ALV contributions).

Missed payments cannot be made up in later years.

A major advantage of pillar 3a is the tax savings. Payments can be listed in the tax return under «deductions», which leads to a reduction in taxable income. If you have little income and therefore pay relatively little tax, it is not so interesting to pay into pillar 3a. It is more interesting to make a deposit in the years when you earn full. In this case, the tax deduction is more effective and you save the most tax.

Yes, you can also enter a standing order and thus make regular deposits. We do not charge any fees for deposits. We credit the deposits to the respective portfolio free of charge and invest the amount at the beginning of the month in the chosen strategy.

The free funds on a 3a portfolio are invested in the chosen strategy on the first banking day of each month.

Regardless of the amount of the deposit, we do not charge any fees for deposits or for transfers from existing 3a credit balances.

The payment must be made in good time before the end of the year, so that the credit is still credited to the finpension 3a Retirement Savings Foundation account in the old year.

You can already choose a strategy when you register. You can then change the strategy at any time free of charge by choosing another strategy or by customising the strategy.

On the same day that the money is credited to the finpension 3a Retirement Savings Foundation account, it is credited to the portfolio. Immediately after the crediting, you can see the deposit in your portfolio.

At the beginning of the following month, the money is invested in the index funds underlying the selected investment strategy. If the chosen strategy does not (no longer) suit you, you can adjust it at any time free of charge.

Always on the first banking day of the month, we buy or sell the fund units required to implement your chosen investment strategy. But before we do so, we check whether other customers within the finpension 3a Retirement Savings Foundation client base have orders to the contrary. In the end, we only trade what is necessary below the line. The rest is charged internally at the currently valid price. Fund units are moved from client X, who wishes to sell, to client Y, who wishes to buy the same fund units. Of course, this internal settlement, which is called netting, is fully automated.

Through this internal settlement, we can often settle purchases and sales at better prices than other providers can do. We can optimise any spread costs between the buying and selling price.

Due to price fluctuations, the effective weightings of the fund units may deviate from the specified target weightings of the investment strategy. If the weighting of a fund deviates from the target weighting by more than one percentage point, your entire portfolio will be realigned. Investments are sold and purchased to restore the target weightings of the individual index funds. This process is called rebalancing. It is performed monthly on the first banking day of the month, always before trading. There are no transaction costs involved.

In the application you can create a request that you want to receive the portfolio. You will then receive an e-mail with the form which you must fill in and return signed for the purchase. As soon as the form has been completely filled in and signed, we will set your investment strategy to “in liquidation”. At the beginning of the next month the fund units will then be sold and the proceeds will be credited to your account. Afterwards the payment will be made.

If you would like to reduce the investment risk immediately, you can of course do this free of charge. We recommend that you choose a strategy with a low equity component. The change of strategy will be implemented on the first bank working day of the following month.

The payment must be recorded in the tax return under “deductions”. In addition, the payment certificate from the pension foundation must be enclosed with the tax return. The payment certificate can be downloaded from the app under Documents.

3a assets do not have to be declared in the tax declaration. The assets are tax-free. Income from the retirement assets (dividends and interest) does not have to be declared either. They are also tax-free.

No, dividends and interest earned on pension assets are not taxable as income. The assets do not have to be listed in your tax declaration either. Pension assets are tax-exempt until they are withdrawn.

Yes, withholding tax is generally deducted on foreign dividend and interest income. However, as the index funds used can only be subscribed by pension funds, the funds can reclaim a large part of the withholding taxes.

Yes, there is a tax on the withdrawal of pension benefits. However, it is a reduced tax. This means that the tax rate is lower than income tax. With a staggered withdrawal, the tax can be further reduced on withdrawal.

In principle, pillar 3a credit balances can be withdrawn at the earliest five years before the normal AHV retirement age.

An early payout of 3a credit balances is possible in the following cases:

  • To finance home ownership (home-ownership promotion).
  • For taking up self-employment.
  • If you emigrate and leave Switzerland permanently (subject to Art. 25f FZG).
  • When receiving a full disability pension and the risk of disability is not insured.

3a credit balances must be withdrawn at the latest when you reach your normal AHV retirement age. However, if you can prove that you are still in gainful employment, you can continue your pillar 3a credit balance for up to five years beyond that date. During this period you can continue to pay in your contributions. Once you reach the regular AHV retirement age, you can close 3a accounts at any time and withdraw the credit balance.

  • All
  • Opening a portfolio
  • Transferring money
  • Depositing money
  • Purchase and sale of fund units
  • Saving taxes
  • Disbursing portfolio

3a Fondation de prévoyance

Toute personne ayant un revenu professionnel soumis à l’AVS peut verser des cotisations dans la prévoyance liée (pilier 3a) et déduire les versements de son revenu imposable. Les versements peuvent être effectués à partir de l’année de vos 18 ans jusqu’à l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS.

Toute personne qui peut démontrer qu’elle exerce une activité rémunérée au-delà de l’âge ordinaire de la retraite peut continuer à cotiser au pilier 3a pendant cinq ans au maximum après l’âge ordinaire de la retraite et continuer à cotiser pendant cette période.

Des informations sur les cas particuliers (chômage, travailleurs frontaliers, retraite anticipée) sont disponibles dans l’article suivant: Qui peut cotiser au 3ème pilier ?

Vous pouvez cotiser au pilier 3a jusqu’à l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS. Au-delà, les paiements ne peuvent être effectués que si vous pouvez démontrer que vous avez une activité professionnelle rémunérée. Mais au plus tard à l’âge de 69 pour les femmes et 70 ans pour les hommes, le pilier 3a doit être dissous et le solde créditeur retiré.

Vous pouvez cotiser au pilier 3a jusqu’à l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS. Au-delà, les paiements ne peuvent être effectués que si vous pouvez démontrer que vous avez une activité professionnelle rémunérée. Mais au plus tard à l’âge de 69 pour les femmes et 70 ans pour les hommes, le pilier 3a doit être dissous et le solde créditeur retiré.

Oui, si les conjoints ont tous deux un revenu professionnel soumis à l’AVS, ils peuvent cotiser au pilier 3a et ainsi se constituer une prévoyance privée. Toutefois, si les revenus d’un des partenaires sont réglés dans le cadre de la procédure de règlement simplifiée, ce dernier ne peut pas cotiser à un pilier 3a.

La loi ne limite pas le nombre de comptes 3a. La fondation de prévoyance finpension 3a permet de constituer jusqu’à cinq portefeuilles par personne.

Non, la loi n’autorise pas le fractionnement des soldes créditeurs d’un compte 3a entre plusieurs comptes 3a. Les retraits partiels ne sont possibles que pour l’accession à la propriété. Dans tous les autres cas, seul le solde total peut être retiré en une fois. Si vous souhaitez pouvoir retirer progressivement vos avoirs de retraite à une date ultérieure, vous devez donc ouvrir plusieurs comptes 3a.

Oui, c’est possible. Vous pouvez faire annuler vos comptes 3a ou vos dépôts et les faire transférer vers un autre prestataire.

Si vous avez déjà un compte 3a, vous pouvez uniquement transférer le solde «en bloc». Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas transférer un montant partiel, mais que vous devez toujours la totalité du solde d’un compte 3a.

Si vous avez plus d’un compte 3a, vous pouvez déplacer chaque solde et le transférer d’un prestataire à l’autre.

Oui, les avoirs 3a auprès de finpension 3a Fondation de prévoyance peuvent être retirés à tout moment.

Nous ne suggérons, ni n’imposons de montant. Vous pouvez déterminer à tout moment le montant et la date de votre dépôt.

On distingue les personnes qui sont affiliées à une caisse de retraite (2e pilier) et celles qui ne le sont pas. Pour les personnes ayant une caisse de retraite, le versement maximum pour une année est limité à 6826 CHF. Sans caisse de retraite, vous pouvez verser jusqu’à 34 128 francs dans un pilier 3a, mais au maximum 20 % de votre revenu net d’activité professionnelle (revenu brut moins les cotisations AVS, AI, APG et AVS).

Les versements qui n’ont pas été effectués les années précédentes ne peuvent être rattrapés au cours des années suivantes.

L’un des principaux avantages du pilier 3a est l’économie d’impôt qu’il génère. Les paiements peuvent être reportés dans la déclaration d’impôt sous la rubrique «déductions», ce qui a pour effet de réduire le revenu imposable. Si vous n’avez qu’un faible revenu imposable et que vous allez donc payez relativement peu d’impôts, l’intérêt de cotiser au pilier 3a cette année-là est moindre. Il est plus intéressant de cotiser les années où vous gagnez davantage. Dans ce cas, la déduction fiscale est plus efficace et vous réalisez une économie d’impôts plus importante.

Oui, vous pouvez également saisir un ordre permanent et effectuer des versements réguliers. Nous ne facturons aucun frais pour les versements. Nous créditons gratuitement les dépôts dans le portefeuille respectif et investissons le montant correspondant dans la stratégie choisie au début du mois suivant.

Les versements sont investis dans la stratégie choisie le premier jour ouvrable bancaire de chaque mois.

Quel que soit le montant, nous ne facturons pas de frais pour les versements, ou pour les transferts à partir de soldes créditeurs 3a existants.

Le dernier versement doit nous parvenir avant la fin de l’année en cours afin que le montant puisse être crédité sur le compte de la fondation dans cette même année.

Vous pouvez choisir une stratégie dès de votre inscription. Par la suite, vous pouvez gratuitement changer de stratégie ou la personnaliser.

L’argent est crédité sur le compte du client le jour même où il est reçu sur le compte de finpension 3a Fondation de prévoyance. Dès que l’argent est crédité, vous pouvez voir le dépôt dans votre portefeuille.

Au début du mois suivant, l’argent est investi dans les fonds indiciels qui sous-tendent la stratégie d’investissement choisie. Si la stratégie choisie ne vous convient pas (ou plus), vous pouvez l’adapter gratuitement à tout moment.

Nous achetons ou vendons systématiquement le premier jour ouvrable bancaire du mois, les parts de fonds nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie d’investissement que vous avez choisie. Au préalable, nous vérifions si d’autres clients de finpension 3a Fondation de prévoyance ont des ordres contraires. Nous n’échangeons donc que la différence entre les parts de fonds à acheter et celles à vendre. Le reste est décompté en interne au prix du marché. En d’autres termes, les parts de fonds sont transférées du client X, qui souhaite vendre, au client Y, qui souhaite acheter les mêmes parts de fonds. Ce règlement interne, appelé «netting», est entièrement automatisé.

Grâce à cette compensation interne, nous pouvons souvent régler les achats et les ventes à de meilleurs prix que les autres fournisseurs. Nous pouvons optimiser tout écart de coût entre le prix d’achat et le prix de vente.

En raison des fluctuations de prix, les pondérations effectives des parts de fonds peuvent s’écarter des pondérations cibles spécifiées pour la stratégie d’investissement. Si la pondération d’un fonds s’écarte de la pondération cible de plus d’un point de pourcentage, l’ensemble de votre portefeuille sera rééquilibré. Des parts de fonds seront vendues et achetées pour rétablir les pondérations cibles des différents fonds indiciels. Ce processus est appelé rééquilibrage. Il est effectuée chaque mois le premier jour ouvrable bancaire du mois avant la négociation (l’achat et la vente des parts de fonds). Aucun frais de transaction n’est prélevé.

Dans l’application vous pouvez créer une requête pour liquider le portfolio. Après avoir lancé la requête vous recevrez un e-mail avec le formulaire que vous devrez remplir et renvoyer signé afin que nous procédions à la liquidation. Dès réception du formulaire rempli et signé, nous mettrons votre stratégie d’investissement en statut «en liquidation». Au début du mois suivant, les parts de fonds seront alors vendues et le produit sera crédité sur votre compte. Le produit de la liquidation pourra alors être transféré.

La transmission du formulaire pouvant supposé un certain délai, si vous souhaitez réduire immédiatement le risque d’investissement. Nous vous recommandons de choisir une stratégie avec une faible composante d’actions. Le changement de stratégie sera mis en œuvre gratuitement le premier jour ouvrable bancaire du mois suivant.

Le total des versements doit être inscrit dans la déclaration d’impôts sous la rubrique «déductions». La déclaration d’impôt doit être accompagnée de l’attestation de versement émise par la fondation de prévoyance. L’attestation est accessible dans l’application sous Documents.

Les avoirs 3a étant des actifs de prévoyance, ils sont exonérés d’impôt. Ils ne doivent donc pas être déclarés. Les revenus des actifs de retraite (dividendes et intérêts) ne doivent pas non plus être déclarés. Ils sont également exonérés d’impôt.

Non, les dividendes et les intérêts que vous percevez sur vos actifs de retraite ne sont pas imposables en tant que revenu. Les actifs ne doivent pas non plus être mentionnés dans votre déclaration d’impôts. Les actifs de retraite sont exonérés d’impôt jusqu’à leur retrait.

Oui, une retenue à la source est généralement prélevée sur les revenus étrangers de dividendes et d’intérêts. Toutefois, comme les fonds indiciels utilisés sont réservés aux fondations de prévoyance et qu’ils jouissent d’un traitement fiscal particulier, ces derniers peuvent récupérer une grande partie de la retenue à la source.

Oui, les prestations de retraite font l’objet d’une imposition. Toutefois, il s’agit d’un impôt réduit. L’ imposition sur les prestations en capital est inférieure à l’impôt sur le revenu. Avec un retrait échelonné, l’impôt peut même encore être réduit.

En principe, les avoirs du pilier 3a peuvent être retirés au plus tôt cinq ans avant l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS.

Un retrait anticipé des soldes créditeurs 3a est possible dans les cas suivants :

  • Pour financer l’accession à la propriété, retrait EPL (Encouragement à la Propriété du Logement).
  • Pour l’exercice d’une activité indépendante.
  • Si vous émigrez et quittez définitivement la Suisse (sous réserve de l’art. 25f LFLP).
  • Lorsqu’une invalidité complète est déclarée et que le risque d’invalidité n’est pas assuré.

Les avoirs 3a doivent être retirés au plus tard lorsque vous atteignez l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS. Toutefois, si vous pouvez démontrer que vous exercez toujours une activité professionnelle, vous pouvez continuer à faire des versements dans le pilier 3a pendant cinq ans au maximum après la date de votre retraite ordinaire. Pendant cette période, vous continuez à bénéficier des avantages de la prévoyance 3a. Une fois que vous avez atteint l’âge ordinaire de la retraite AVS, vous pouvez à tout moment fermer un compte 3a et retirer l’avoir correspondant.

  • Tous
  • Ouvrir un portefeuille
  • Transfert d‘argent
  • Effectuer des versements
  • Achat et vente de parts de fonds
  • Economie d‘impôts
  • Retrait des avoirs